Reconstruction of the Horizon Cinema

Date: 2019

Location: Russia, Moscow

Square: 1,930 m2

Status: Concept

Reconstruction of the Horizon Cinema

The Horizon Cinema was built more than 50 years ago (in 1966) in one of the central districts of Moscow – Khamovniki. The location of the cinema is its main advantage, which provides a potentially high passability, but the configuration of the building is quite complex, not suitable for the usual cinemas today – multi-hall and spacious. However, during the reconstruction of the object, we have turned its chamberness into an advantage – the architectural design makes the space modern, and various scenarios of use make it attractive for various leisure activities.

Reconstruction of the cinema is not only a change in its internal structure, but also the creation of new functions. Thus, we are changing the internal architecture of the complex, creating a double-height space. The internal halls – cinema, restaurant, and lecture halls are supplied with mobile partitions, so, these spaces can be used as a single one when hosting large events, and as separate, independent spaces, which will allow the cinema to simultaneously hold screenings, as well as lectures and cultural events. The entrance to the building can be carried out in two ways – through the foyer or directly from the street.

We paid special attention to the improvement of the territory. There will be a new modern outdoor area for the Horizon events, where temporary installations can be located, and visitors will be offered transformable seats. At the grove next to the cinema building, we propose to make a quiet area for rest in the shade of trees. And in the zone with a complex terrain – an elevation difference, we are creating a children’s multi-level playground.

Starting the project, we conducted a study in which we learned from the residents of the district their habits, needs and requirements. So, many use alternative means of transport, so we are creating a bicycle parking. The corner of the building can be seen when exiting the subway, we use this view characteristic to attract new visitors – an add-on is offered for this purpose. The single design code of the territory and the building will emphasize its modernity and uniqueness, given the complex configuration (stylobate) it is necessary to pay special attention to the design code.

Khamovniki is a prestigious district, leading in sales of luxury housing in new buildings. However, competition in the leisure sector is relatively low. Today the Horizon is a sought-after space due to the festival and opera repertoire, but this space has much greater potential, and reconstruction will allow it to be used.

Реконструкция кинотеатра «Горизонт»

Дата: 2019

Расположение: Россия, Москва

Площадь: 1 930 м2

Статус: Концепция

Реконструкция кинотеатра «Горизонт»

Кинотеатр Горизонт построен более 50 лет назад (в 1966 году) в одном из центральных районов Москвы – Хамовниках. Расположение кинотеатра является его главным преимуществом, которое обеспечивает потенциально высокую проходимость, но конфигурация здания достаточно сложная, не подходящая для привычных сегодня кинотеатров — многозальных и просторных. Однако при реконструкции объекта мы превратили его камерность в преимущество — архитектурное решение делает пространство современным, а разнообразные сценарии пользования делают его привлекательным для разных досуговых мероприятий.

Реконструкция кинотеатра — это не только изменение его внутренней структуры, но и создание новых функций. Так, мы меняем внутреннюю архитектуру комплекса, создавая двусветное пространство. Внутренние залы — кинотеатр, ресторан, лекторий снабжаются мобильными перегородками, так, эти помещения можно будет использовать как единое пространство при больших мероприятиях и как отдельные, независимые пространства, что позволит кинотеатру одновременно проводить показы, а также лекции и культурные мероприятия. Вход в здание может быть осуществлен двумя способами — через фойе или напрямую с улицы.

Мы уделили особое внимание благоустройству территории. Здесь будет создана новая современная площадка для мероприятий Горизонта на открытом воздухе, где могут располагаться временные инсталляции, а посетителям будут предложены трансформируемые сиденья. У рощи рядом со зданием кинотеатра мы предлагаем сделать тихую зону для отдыха в тени деревьев. А в зоне со сложным рельефом — перепадом, мы создаем детскую многоуровневую площадку.

Начиная проект, мы провели исследование, в котором узнали у жителей района их привычки, нужды и потребности. Так, многие пользуются альтернативными видами транспорта, поэтому мы создаем велопарковку. Угол здания видно при выходе из метро, мы используем эту видовую характеристику для привлечения новых посетителей — для этого над зданием предлагается надстройка. Единый дизайн-код территории и здания подчеркнет его современность и уникальность, учитывая сложную конфигурацию (стилобат) – необходимо уделить дизайн-коду особое внимание.

Хамовники — престижный район, лидирующий по продажам элитного жилья в новостройках. Однако конкуренция в досуговом секторе относительно невысока. Горизонт сегодня является востребованным пространством благодаря фестивальному и оперному репертуару, однако это пространство обладает значительно большим потенциалом, и реконструкция позволит его использовать.