Concept of Nuclear Power Pavilion at VDNKh, 2015
Location: Russia, Moscow
Area: 18 200 sqm
Status: Concept

In 2015, IND Architects studio took part in the contest for creating a Nuclear Power Pavilion at VDNKh as part of a consortium with FR-EE, an American architectural studio. We created a vibrant and eye-catching concept that qualified for the finale of the contest. In total, six architect bureaus and consortiums were shortlisted for the final out of 49 submitted projects.

The concept of the pavilion, which we called the Reactor, is based on a particle that forms the basis of everything in the world, including nuclear power— an atom. Similar to an atomic nucleus, a building rests on a sphere, which is the center of a busy program. A vast roof with large extensions sweeps into the park and invites visitors in. A transparent and flexible space encourages engagement and interaction—the pavilion offers a panoramic view of VDNKh, as the walls are transparent and there are no columns.

There is meaning in every inch of the interior space. Not only can visitors learn more about Russia’s nuclear industry here, but they can immerse in its history, get to know the present and become a part of the future as well. Three levels of learning are scattered over the pavilion’s storeys, people move by a spiral path, from the first level (the past) up to the very top. This is a metaphor of atomic orbits. Participants of the exhibition get integrated into the concept and become its integral part for the whole time they stay inside. People can be seen from outside the pavilion and, through their movement, interest and energy, they invite other visitors of VDNKh to join an engaging scientific and entertaining journey through time.

The Reactor’s tectonics looks like the arched structure of the Space Pavilion and brings to mind a one-of-a-kind silhouette of the USSR Pavilion at the Montreal’s Exhibition of 1967. The pavilion fits in VDNKh’s current architectural image but offers the visitors way more than they can see from the park. The underground levels are used very actively—long- and short-term exhibitions are held here; there is a panoramic lecture hall here, too. A creative laboratory, a library, show-rooms (including those that engage a visitor in an interactive scientific game), and a restaurant, which offers a panoramic view of the park, are arranged on the ground levels.

Under the dome, visitors of the Atomariy (the core of the building) will get incredible and unique experience. The illusion of collective generation of energy is embodied here—every visitor starts his or her own circle that tends to other circles, and this creates a breathtaking effect.

The concept of the pavilion from FR-EE and IND Architects shapes an image of Russia’s nuclear industry as a contemporary and innovative system, builds up the reputation of the sector and promotes the spread of knowledge across the country’s population. The concept stirs visual interest that changes into quality interest due to carefully considered contents of the pavilion, thus strengthening Russia’s scientific fund.

Концепция Павильона атомной энергии на ВДНХ, 2015
Расположние: Россия, Москва
Площадь объекта: 18 200 м2
Статус: Концепция

В 2015 году студия IND Architects в составе консорциума с американской архитектурной студией FR-EE, приняли участие в конкурсе на создание Павильона атомной энергии на ВДНХ. Мы создали яркую, эффектную концепцию, которая вышла в финал конкурса. Всего в финал вышли 6 архитектурных бюро и консорциумов из 49 проектов, поданных на конкурс.

Концепция павильона, который мы назвали Реактор, основана на частице, которая является основой всего в мире, в том числе и атомной энергии — атоме. Наподобие ядра атома, в основе здания шар, который является центром насыщенной программы. Грандиозная кровля с большими вылетами простирается в парк, приглашая посетителей внутрь. Прозрачное и гибкое пространство приглашает к диалогу — благодаря отсутствию колонн и прозрачным стенам из павильона открывается панорама на ВДНХ.

Каждый сантиметр внутреннего пространства наполнен смыслом, здесь посетителям предлагается не только узнать больше об атомной промышленности России, но и окунуться в ее историю, познакомиться с настоящим и стать частицей будущего. Три уровня познания разнесены по этажам павильона, движение людей проходит по спиралевидной тропе, от первого (прошлого) уровня до самого верха. Это метафора орбит атома, участники выставки интегрируются в концепцию, становятся ее неотъемлемой частью на все время своего пребывания внутри. Они видны снаружи павильона и своим движением, интересом и активностью приглашают посетителей ВДНХ присоединиться к увлеченному, научному и развлекательному, путешествию сквозь время.

Тектоника Реактора напоминает сводчатую структуру Павильона Космос и вызывает в памяти необыкновенный силуэт Павильона СССР на Выставке 1967 года в Монреале. Павильон вписывается в существующий архитектурный образ ВДНХ, но предлагает посетителям значительно больше, чем они видят из парка. Активно используются подземные уровни — здесь проходят постоянные и временные выставки, здесь же расположен панорамный лекторий. На наземных уровнях расположились креативная лаборатория, библиотека, выставочные залы, в том числе включающие посетителя в интерактивную научную игру и ресторан с панорамным видом на парк.

Под куполом посетители Атомария (ядра здания) получат необыкновенный и уникальный опыт. Здесь воплощается иллюзия коллективного создания энергии — каждый посетитель запускает свою сферу, которая стремится к другим, что создает потрясающий эффект.

Концепция павильона от FR-EE и IND Architects и формирует образ атомной промышленности России как современной, инновационной системы, укрепляет имидж отрасли и способствует распространению знаний среди населения страны. Она вызывает визуальный интерес, который благодаря тщательно продуманному наполнению павильона, переходит в качественный, подкрепляя научный фонд России.